Of chocolates and kids crafts

This weekend a friend and I went for breakfast at the Old Biscuit Mill in Woodstock in Cape Town. This is one of my favorite places to go to on a lazy Saturday morning – you get to eat, buy fresh and organic products and stroll around the Woodstock streets for vintage shops and quirky items.

biscuit mill

choc kid

My parents have a picture of me – much like this one at home. Some things don’t change I’m afraid.

 

As I was walking around the stalls I saw that there was a new exciting addition: a chocolate  factory! Chocolate turns me into a kid again – I can eat entire bars by myself, I love how it melts between my fingers and make them all sticky! Off-course I end up with melted chocolate all over my face – and yes- even my hair.

Now a chocolate factory…  let’s just say that after numerous failed attempts at asking me to stop jumping on the spot, my friend disappeared pretending not to know me. Can’t say I blame her.

CocoaFair is an organic chocolate factory founded on social entrepreneurship. What these fancy words basically mean – at least to me – is that the beans are sourced responsibly and sustainably, they recycle stuff, money goes back to the community and they make some of the finest chocolate in South Africa. Click  here for more information on CocoaFair.

choc fact1

2013-03-09 11.09.23

 

The chocolate is packaged in this awesome Klikerty box – made of recycled plastic bottles.

The blog MiriMoo gives you step by step instructions on how to achieve these beautiful gift boxes! According to the blog these are fun to do as a family and may take some practice to make perfectly. But who wants perfection anyways?

 

 

This little trip down memory lane reminded me of glued fingers, painted skin and ruined dresses! As a kid I loved making bird houses – all you need is an empty milk carton, glue, pretty paint, buttons/ribbons, or dried flowers,leaves wood – oh an bird seeds!

birdfeeder

Leave a Reply

